Home National UCP Site Donate Now! About UCP What is CP Research Programs and Services Advocacy and Public Policy E-News Support UCP News Annual Report Outcome Goals Strategic Plan Calendar Newsletter Resources Site Map Web Site Accessibility Contact Us
Gone for Good Logo
White Glove Professionals Logo

Central Illinois Supports UCP

United Cerebral Palsy Land of Lincoln hosted their annual Telethon on Sunday, January 29, 2012 on WICS-TV. Over 300 local volunteers staffed the phone banks in Beardstown, Bloomington, Morrisonville, Pleasant Plains, Carlinville, Pawnee, Lincoln, Taylorville, Jacksonville, Virden, Decatur, Chatham and Springfield, raising money to support UCP’s programs and services. Volunteers and sponsors for UCP exceeded the goal of $350,000 and went off air with a remarkable $357,264.

The UCP Land of Lincoln Telethon started in 1954 on WICS. Paul Wappel and Jill Egizii, will again host the six-hour UCP Telethon. Special guest hosts include: WICS morning and miday meteorologist, Joe Crain; former WICS news anchor, Julie Staley; WFMB morning talk show hosts, John Spalding & Michele Mitchell; anchor/reporter Marrianne Manko and WICS chief meteorologist, Gus Gordon.


Annual Meeting 2011

United Cerebral Palsy Land of Lincoln’s Annual Meeting, hosted by Board Chair, Honorable Leo Zappa, was held on Wednesday, November 9, 2011.

UCP Land of Lincoln honored: Levi, Ray & Shoup, Inc, “Outstanding Corporate Support;” Jim Reinhart, “Outstanding Board Member;” Brian McFadden, “Outstanding New Board Member;” Paul Wappel, “Outstanding Trustee;” Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Rehabilitation Services, “Outstanding Community Partner;” Gary Reynolds, “Outstanding Telethon VIP;” The Herron Family, “Outstanding Telethon Team;” Emily Phillips; “Outstanding Volunteer;” Natasha Wilikins, “Outstanding Camp Volunteer;” AMF Laketown Lanes, “Employer of the Year;” Jerry Skelton, “Gene Schneider Leadership Award;” Chris Callarman, “David Dailey Community Employment Award;” Jessica Decker, “Donna Newton Employee of the Year;” Staff Service Awards were given to Minnie Bradford-Robinson, Jessica Decker, Tony Smith, Julie Weakley, Teresa McCarthy, Lisa Thorson, “5 Year Service Award;” Fannie Van, “10 Year Service Award;” Carl Bell“15 Year Service Award,” Tayla Reed-Wood., “20 Year Service Award.”

UCP History

UCP Testimonials Video

Legislative Breakfast

The Legislative Breakfast was held Tuesday,May 10,2011.

Representative Poe, Senator Bomke and Representative Brauer were the guest speakers at a breakfast and answered questions about the current legislative session. Participating agencies: United Cerebral Palsy Land of Lincoln, Sparc, Illinois Assistive Technology Program, Springfield Center for Independent Living, Coaliation for Citizens with Disabilities, Illinois Network of Centers for Independent Living, Statewide Independent Living Council.

© 2014, UCP Land of Lincoln
101 North 16th Street, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: (217) 525-6522 Fax: (217) 525-9017